Happy St. Paddy’s Day!

Happy St. Paddy’s day, everyone! I’m back! Kind of. I won’t spend much time on this, but I thought that even though I haven’t posted anything for the past two/three weeks I would be an absolute failure if I didn’t post anything for the Irish day of drinking.

So here goes. Today’s beer of choice is O’hara’s Irish Red, which is apparently a rarity in that it’s actually brewed in Ireland (if you can find another one, let me know).

Anyways, the beer is more of a dark amber than a red, but the color’s pretty vibrant and clear. Lots of carbonation too. It smells sweet and malty, but it isn’t too complex. Not too much in the flavor department either, at least on the front end. But it has a dry (almost stale),toasty malty backbone to it that makes it more interesting to drink than a Killian’s or a Wexford. Some of that maltiness sticks around at the end, too.The bottle says there’s “traditional hop flavor,” but I can’t really taste any of it. Maybe some “whisps.”

Overall, it’s simple with a sweet finish, but it has enough flavor and drinkability to be the perfect beer for a special occasion like tonight. Also, at 4.3% ABV, you can drink a few and not get into too much trouble.  I’ll give it an 87 out of 100. Excellent St. Patrick’s Day beer.

On another note, I’ll try to be more diligent in my posts. I’ve bee trying to settle into my new living situation in Sterling. I have a few more beers in store, so stay tuned.

One thought on “Happy St. Paddy’s Day!

Leave a Reply

